MY MISTRESS NIGERIA

MY MISTRESS NIGERIA

I ask not much of my mistress
I do not ask for much
Just for as little food to repress
the whirling worms inside

i will not ask for the superfluous warmth
of her bourgeoisie bosom
i ask just for some solace
and the white of peace

I do not ask her for fried mutton
But god knows i’m lacking of meat
and my fleshy fantasies
I would not bring to her ears

I do not ask for big tubs
Or for the crimson colored rose petals
If I could get a bucket of water
To taint my decaying skin

I do not ask for happiness
Not that I forbear with joy
As my luxury of lack
To soon fills the heart with malice

I wouldn’t ask for the illumination of chandeliers
My hut has no stomach for aesthetics
But that i may come home not aghast
or own a homely home

I do not ask for her riches
She tells of fat mansions her father owns
She tells her anklets are pure gold
And now I cower in despair
I do not ask for fidelity
But my mistress can see the watery vengeance
That cloud the alabaster of my eyes
But I do not ask for fidelity

I do not ask for much you see
and My mistress knows this
I dare ask for the filth of her love
And she denies me even this.

 

Written by Vincent Okonkwo 

 

One thought on “MY MISTRESS NIGERIA

Leave a Reply

