INTELLECTUAL PREJUDICE

Hello friends and family. I am sure we were missed. Well, the administrators of this blog have all been busy writing semester examinations at the University of Benin, and we are glad to announce that we are done now and ready to fire with back to back articles.
We shall be making some structural changes to the blog as we have signed some new top-notch writers. We assure you that the Legal Watchmen is up and ready to watch us legally till we transist to the new year.

Today’s article was written by a guest writer who happens to be a Final Year student of the Faculty of Law of the University of Benin. It hampers on the foremost subject which is on every students’ mind during examinations.
Enjoy!

INTELLECTUAL PREJUDICE

What if I told you that examinations are a violation of your human rights? What if I told you that every time you wrote an examination you trampled on your right to freedom of expression, intellectual expression? Why should individuals who are on diverse intellectual wavelengths express themselves via a sole means: written exams. And where it so happens that they fall short, they are viewed as failures. Why call a fellow dull when the system is not tailored for him or her, when all that he/she is amounts to is a misfit, a maverick? Isn’t that a novel form of discrimination-cerebral profiling? Einstein once said:  “If you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole live believing it is silly.”
I once wrote an examination that was definitely brewed in the vilest, dankest parts of the underworld: Psychology. The examination arrived in the infamous German objective format. I felt this cauldron of anger bubbling merrily in my stomach after I wrote that exam. I have never departed from any examination hall fuming before that day. I was well and truly enraged and for good reason too. Why? It made no sense to me. How? A certain question went thus:
 ______ is the willingness to help?
The first thing that came to my mind was empathy and I put it down without a second thought. Now, it so turned out that I was wrong. How? The answer to that question according to the lecturer’s textbook is ‘commitment’. Now, I’m going to flunk that question because my answer ran afoul of the system. I was grammatically right but systematically wrong.
I do not see the reason why it should be dubbed a learning process if all I’m going to do is gulp down the contents of a textbook for the sole purpose of regurgitating the exact same contents (verbatim) in the exam hall like I’m some ruminant animal with a digestive problem. It makes no sense for me to plonk stuff down my academic gullet for the sole purpose of passing an exam and getting a certain grade.
Why is it called school, when all it does is flood my mind with stuff I’ll never need in the real world? Why is it called a learning process if all it does is make me a certificate toting, unlearned contraption who spent the last four to five years guzzling enormous helpings of data he forgets with every hour that passes after he drops his pen and turns my exam sheet in? Why should I be called an educated man when I possess a malformed mind that has been beaten out of shape by an arcane system and neutered of the ability to think? Why should I be referred to as a leader of tomorrow when I get tested today by a system that belongs to yesterday? Why should that lad or damsel who’s at the zenith of the class dubbed a genius when all that he/she is good at is downing insane amounts of data like they are tequila shots? Why not just refer to him or her as an oxygen breathing human computer?
Heck, referring to that ‘genius’ as a computer is a snide jab at computers- computers process data into information, all our acclaimed ‘geniuses’ are apt at is engorging their minds with data
From textbooks and regurgitating this same data like malfunctioning computers. Sour grapes? I think not. Why should it be called an educational system if all it turns is mass produce and churn out academic jalopies, graduates who are clones of themselves? In my opinion, it should be dubbed a mental institution for mentally deformed zombified conformists -folks who can’t reason outside the academic box if their lives depended on it.
So many questions….
That’s the end of my babble.

Written by Aloaye Daniel Igiekhumhe. He can be contacted via email at daniel007ace@ovi.com.

4 thoughts on “INTELLECTUAL PREJUDICE

  1. This is the fault of the Nigerian learning system. I shudder when I think of my university days, when a higher percentage of my reading to pass exams was cramming into my head most of what I'd been thought. Something that was the norm amongst most of my fellow students. The better crammer inevitably became the bigger smasher of the exams.
    And that psychology question? Absolutely silly, and yet, exactly what is obtainable in Nigerian universities, where exam answers are expected to be exactly what the lecturer has in mind, and not how you understand it. It's a rigid system, and not one that teaches at all.

    Like

  2. Nice write up. This dude gives me hope that there are still angry lawyers like tbose in the ranks of the legal watchmen who will challenge inept systems in the near future. Your fervour is matched only by the fluidity and connect of your thoughts. Well about the topic, i disagree with some point though, especially the part:
    “Why is it called school, when all it does
    is flood my mind with stuff I’ll never
    need in the real world?” Dude trust me in the real world you are gonna need apply a prioritizing and selection approach like we are doing with our studies today!
    “Why is it called a
    learning process if all it does is make me
    a certificate toting, unlearned
    contraption who spent the last four to
    five years guzzling enormous helpings of
    data he forgets with every hour that
    passes after he drops his pen and turns
    my exam sheet in?” Certificate toting? Nope! It was earned and also well deserved by whatever means, whether hook or crook
    “Why should I be
    called an educated man when I possess a
    malformed mind that has been beaten
    out of shape by an arcane system and
    neutered of the ability to think? ” Basically i will surmise that the arcane system actually helps us think, because how can you know good when you can't ID wrong!
    Bro inasmuch as i disagree on those issues, i must confess your submission on examination is on point. This is what you get when the old generation are afraid of change. Do you think the members of the school senate listen to music of the 2010+ era? What's the connect you will ask me and i will say: A man who still fixates on his post office box and newspapers and tv newshour and rotary phones can not be responsible for the change of the internet generation smarter than him
    How many lecturers above 40 can find this page if given the url. Some peeps got stuck in version 1.0.1
    And bros, facebook and twitter is faster than email! Lols

    Like

Leave a Reply

